EuroBasket, also commonly referred to as the European Basketball Championship, is the main international basketball competition that is contested quadrennially, by the senior men's national teams that are governed by FIBA Europe, which is the European zone within the International Basketball Federation.

The first championships was held three years after the establishment of FIBA, in 1935. Switzerland was chosen as the host country, and ten countries joined. Only one qualifying match was played between Portugal and Spain. With a complicated formula, the final would see Latvia as champions.

24 European teams take part in the final competition. The qualification format that existed until the 2011 EuroBasket permitted 16 teams to compete. Eight spots were determined by the host nation and the top seven finishers of the previous EuroBasket. The remaining Division A teams compete in a qualification tournament. There, they were divided into four groups. Each group played a double round-robin. The top team in each group qualified for EuroBasket. The best three of the four runners-up also qualified.

Of the ten teams that did not qualify in the qualification tournament, the six best got another chance in the additional qualification round. The remaining four competed in a relegation round, with two being sent to Division B for the next qualification cycle (and replaced by the two best teams from Division B).

The final spot was determined by the additional qualifying round. The six teams were divided into two groups of three, with each group playing a double round-robin. The top team in each group played in the final against the other group's top team; the winner of that game received the final EuroBasket qualification spot.

In 2015, the national team of Iceland became the smallest nation to ever qualify for a EuroBasket final stage at the population of around 330.000 people. The team was led by the former Dallas Maverick, Jón Arnór Stefánsson followed by a great performance which drove them through the qualifiers. In 2017, Iceland made back to back qualification to a EuroBasket final stage, then led by the young Martinn Hermansson.

EuroBasket has used a number of different formats, ranging from the simple round-robin used in 1939, to a three-stage tournament, and now a two-stage tournament that is currently in use.

The current format begins with a preliminary round. The twenty-four qualified teams are placed into four groups of six, and each group plays a round-robin tournament. The top four teams in each group (16 overall) advance to the knockout stage. The knockout stage is a 16-team single-elimination tournament, with a bronze medal game for semi-final losers and classification games for the quarterfinal losers to determine fifth to eighth places.

The safe and affordable way to get tickets to basketball matches is biletwise! In the most popular leagues in the world, the right address to witness contentious struggles on the spot is biletwise!

Turkey Basketball League, Euroleague, NBA and many other leagues too easy to get tickets through biletwise! If you can't take your place in the stadium, sell your tickets through biletwise, do not leave your seat empty!

The address of a safe and affordable priced ticket biletwise, offers the opportunity to watch Basketball matches live! To buy and sell match tickets, biletwise is available 24/7.

How to buy a European Basketball Championship 2022 ticket?

To buy a match ticket, sign up for biletwise now!
Log into your account.
Choose your
European Basketball Championship 2022 tickets.
Proceed to the checkout page.
Complete payment by credit or debit card.
It's that easy!

How to sell my European Basketball Championship 2022 ticket?

To sell a match ticket, sign up for biletwise now!
Log into your account.
Choose a ticket category for the
European Basketball Championship 2022 match.
Fill in your information and list your tickets on biletwise.
Do not leave both your seat and pocket empty!